Tags

, , , , , ,

Have I mentioned yet that I’m not a newborn pink person?  I’m not anti-pink, there are just so many better colors.  I’m so thankful for friends who have given us some newborn hand-me-downs.  They have filled her drawers with plenty of clothes.  Most of them are pink so I’m trying to infuse other colors everywhere I can.  I know the hospital will give her a handknit newborn hat, but it will be pale pink so I made her something better.  In teal, of course.

I vaguely followed this pattern for the hat itself.  I knit it in the round.  It was my first time using double pointed needles but I love the way it turned out.  My grandma taught me to knit 20+ years ago and I am thankful the basic stitches have stuck with me.

I used this pattern to make the flower.  I haven’t done much crocheting so it definitely exercised new skills and isn’t perfect, but it’s perfect for her.

I can’t wait to see her cute little face snuggling next to me in it. It’s going to be so much cuter than my sippy cup model.

