Tags

, ,

Christmas decorations were part of my $40 challenge.  The new decorations this year include ornaments, a new nutcracker, and redone garland (which I have yet to actually do).  String ornaments today, glass ornaments tomorrow.

I like to have something to tie the tree together.  Last year, sweet husband let me decorate the tree teal and lime with the expectation that I would stick to “traditional colors” this year.  Luckily, he doesn’t know the difference between orange and red. 🙂

Keeping the lime mesh from last year, this year I made white and “red” string ornaments to anchor the tree.  Similar to Bradley’s string ceiling balls, I made two dozenish red and white spheres.  They are, conveniently, unbreakable by little hands.

Supplies:
-Cotton yarn
-White glue
-Cornstarch
-Balloons

1. Inflate balloons to desired size and hang them from string.

Side note: Bradley was entertained for minutes on end trying to “catch” the balloons.  I caught the end on tape.  (Yes, I know balloons and babies are a dangerous combination.  He was closely supervised).

2.  Mix about 1/2 a bottle of glue with 1/4 c of cornstarch and 1/4 c of water.  Adjust as needed until you have a consistency that will coat the string but not run.

3.  Coat the string in the mixture and wrap around and around and around the balloon.  It’s really nice to have a helper for this step.  Like a real helper, not a “helper”.

My “helper”

4. Let them dry for at least 24 hours before you pop the balloon.  Then hang them on the tree.

Some added child-resistant (because if I’ve learned anything as a parent it is that nothing is child-proof) sass to my tree.

