Tags

, ,

We have an awkward foyer. It’s just the intersection of hallways and the stairs.

I have been wanting to give the space some definition but didn’t know how. I really wanted to stencil a bold allover black and white pattern, but that got the X. Then, I wanted to stencil a subdued cream and white pattern. That also got the X.
Then, when shopping at IKEA, I made an impulse buy without even running by the husband to get the X. He thought I was crazy but now he loves it. It is a shoe cabinet called HEMNES. Mason likes it for the function, but what caught my eye was the slim profile to perfectly fit the space.

It installs flush to the wall since it made without rear legs. To make this happen, we had to remove a section of chair rail.

So much better!

I added a black mirror (which I sprayed oil rubbed bronze to blend better) and carpet squares from FLOR.


These squares are great because you can customize the size you want the rug and then they stick together. We also put FLOR squares by the back door (here).  I went out of my box and chose FLOR Parallel Reality in Teal for the foyer since it happened to have most of the downstairs colors including the front door.

You can see above on the left the teal in the door and the carpet.  If you look carefully on the left, you can also see the tie in to the family room color.  On the right, you can play I Spy and see that the magenta in the carpet ties in to the magenta/wine in the curtains of the living room.

Cutting the chair rail out really makes the profile nice and sleek.

I love the new foyer. It defines the space and adds another convenient area for seasonal flair. 🙂

Light: Lowe’s – a few years ago it was ~$70.  We put it up in the dining room when we moved in and then moved it to the foyer a few years later.  I cut all the hideous plastic daisies off.  Much better now. 🙂
Front door color: Moonlit Pool by Behr
Shoe cabinet: HEMNES from IKEA
Mirror: Homegoods (then sprayed Rustoleum ORB)
Carpet Squares: FLOR Parallel Reality in Teal
Maybe I can work in a stencil further down the hallway………

