So I not one to really celebrate my birthday.  I mean really…I didn’t put much legwork in to making another trip around the sun.  I should thank physics for that.  Or I should celebrate my mom for having my original birth day.

So while I don’t feel the need or desire to have a big celebration for my birthday, it is a good opportunity to reflect on what I was doing in past years around this time.  So here it goes:

Five years ago – May 9, 2007 – I was flying down to Birmingham for training for my summer as a Passport counselor.  It was pretty much my job to spend my summer acting ridiculous.  Like the picture below: (That’s me in the sassy floral dress)

Four Years Ago – May 9, 2008 – I was supposed to be walking at my graduation for my MAEd, but I skipped it and went ahead home to Richmond.  After all, I had a handsome groom waiting for me to meet him at the other end of the aisle a few weeks later.

Three Years Ago – May 9, 2009 – We had recently moved into our house.  I was finishing my first year teaching in Richmond and trying to keep my head above water.

Two Years Ago – May 9, 2010 – I planted a hydrangea (my favorite) to commemorate my 25th birthday.  Since then, it has endured having most of its branches broken off in a hail storm, getting transplanted, and numerous other challenges.  Mason has made fun of my hydrangea because it has been struggling, but this year it is finally flowering!

One Year Ago – May 9, 2011 – My first round of AP students took the AP Physics test.  They all scored outstandingly well which was hugely affirming for me.  Also, a few days after my birthday, we found out that Bradley was on his way.

It has been quite the 5 years!  I can’t imagine another 5 year span that will involve so many life changes: a new degree, starting my career, getting married, buying a house, becoming a mother.  Wow.  Now celebrating all those wonderful things might be worthy of a cupcake.

