Tags

,

Five years ago today was a special and bitter-sweet day.  Five years ago, I took the walk from Reid Chapel down Centennial Walk and graduated from Samford.

Image

I am inexpressibly grateful for all the people who invested in my life during that special time: my parents for financially and emotionally supporting me packing up and moving to a state where I had never been; the amazing professors who took time to really get to know me and develop my strengths; and all the wonderful people who helped me become who I am today.

Choosing Samford was one of the best decisions I made in my life.  I know that it was where I really was supposed to be especially when I look back on the path that brought me there.  I watch my students trying to pick colleges right now and play the waiting game to see where they will go.  I hope for each of them that they find their Samford that will develop them not only academically but also as a person.  I pray that Bradley, one day, will find such an amazing place and that Mason & I will be as trusting as my parents were and support him his adventure.

Five years ago today was such a special day.

And five years ago I don’t know that I could have imagined everything that has happened since then.  I was in the thick of wedding planning, just excited to live in the same time zone as Mason.  Since then I finished graduate school, got married, and started “real life” (predictable).  I was recognized as a top math/science teacher in the country (crazy) and became the poster child for 21st century learning in the county (laughable).  We bought a house smack in the middle of suburbia and now will fill the house with our own bundle of joy in the coming month.  I couldn’t have predicted it, but wouldn’t change it for anything.

Thank you to each of you who have been a part of the journey at Samford and since.  My life is full and rich and wonderful because of you.

