I am thankful that we live close to family.

To be honest, what really made me think of how thankful I am was watching the Today Show this morning.  Every morning I turn on the news as I get ready for work.  If I’m running late (which is becoming the norm these days), I catch the first 10 minutes or so of the Today Show.  Today they were checking on major roadways and airports already reporting about all the travel nightmares.  I immediately thought back to the days of traveling between Birmingham and Richmond for Thanksgiving – one year getting stuck in Charlotte overnight and then some; one year (also in Charlotte) having to beg the gate agent to let me on the plane – really I can’t remember a single positive Thanksgiving travel experience.  I LOVE not traveling.

I am thankful that we have my brother and his family nearby.  Mase & I have become good friends with my brother & his wife.  They are probably the couple that we do the most with.  They were the first ones we told about Bradley’s impending arrival.  I am excited that Bradley will grow up with their daughter and that we have them to share the joys, struggles, and everything in between of  parenthood.

I am thankful that Bradley will have grandparents nearby, something I never had growing up.

I am thankful to have the opportunity to get to know my parents as adults.  The more I learn about them, the more amazed and impressed I am with them.  My mom has become one of my best friends and tactfully can provide wisdom that my other girlfriends can’t.  I’ve also enjoyed the transition from being “Daddy’s helper” for projects growing up to working with Dad designing things for my house.   It is our own form of quality time and I love it.

